Video

Matthieu Ricard on the art of meditation

As we develop increasing understanding of the integration of thinking and physical health (psychoneuroimmunology), knowledge of ways in which we can nourish our bodies and brains become invaluable. Meditation is one such way in which we can gain control and train our mind to alter our experience of the world.

Life presents many challenges and we react, often automatically with thinking, emotional and physical responses. Learn to respond with balance, clarity, awareness and alertness.

2 thoughts on “Matthieu Ricard on the art of meditation

  1. Dear CRPS UK, I am a long time meditator and in the throes of an aggressive onset, it was difficult for the body to sit still – it stressed the nervous system, but meditation is without a doubt one of a basket of long term remedies. Recently I was finally able to go on a three day retreat with someone almost as proficient as Mr. Ricard. I mentioned in another post the effect that estrogen changes have and I notice a flare up in symptoms the day before and day of menstruation. (Normally I would not share this stuff! but I want other people to be free from pain 🙂 Following the three day meditation retreat, I swear on my life that there was no flare up at all and the usual PMS symptoms I experience even pre-chronic pain were utterly absent. I think it has to do with the effects on the hypothalamus or hypocampus – that is probably explained in one of your posts. The effects lasted for a good week after the retreat but we have to practice ourselves fairly regularly for it to continue. It tends to be less effective if we practice only one hour per day rather than three full days in a row but even a half an hour per day or even 15 minutes can help. Now that I have had this powerful physical reminder of the benefits – I am sitting again regularly almost every day and adding it to my rehabilitation programme.
    It is kind of a wonderful secret- it is available to all of us.

    • PS- yes – it helps remove the fear of what is happening to our bodies, but it also works at a deeper neurophysiology level – right where chronic pain patient is hit hard – the hypothalamus I believe …

Leave a Reply

